757-242-3566 Tuesday, September 25, 2018  
 
Weather |  Futures |  Futures Markets |  Market News |  Headline News |  DTN Ag Headlines |  AgBizDir.com |  Portfolio |  Charts |  Options |  Farm Life 
 Home
 About Us
 Useful Resources
 Precision Ginning
 Real Time Quotes
 USDA Reports
 Calendar
 Contact Us
 FAQ's
 Admin Login
 Cotton Budget
 
- DTN Headline News
Cattle on Feed Report Summary
Monday, September 24, 2018 1:47PM CDT

Editor's Note: This article was originally posted at 2:02 p.m. CDT. It was reposted with additional information at 2:46 p.m. CDT.

**

OMAHA (DTN) -- Cattle and calves on feed for the slaughter market in the United States for feedlots with capacity of 1,000 or more head totaled 11.1 million head on Sept. 1, 2018. The inventory was 6% above Sept. 1, 2017, USDA reported Friday.

This is the highest Sept. 1 inventory since the series began in 1996.

Placements in feedlots during August totaled 2.07 million head, 7% above 2017. Net placements were 2.02 million head. During August, placements of cattle and calves weighing less than 600 pounds were 430,000 head, 600-699 pounds were 335,000 head, 700-799 pounds were 460,000 head, 800-899 pounds were 475,000 head, 900-999 pounds were 240,000 head, and 1,000 pounds and greater were 130,000 head.

Marketings of fed cattle during August totaled 1.98 million head, slightly above 2017.

Other disappearance totaled 55,000 head during August, 12% above 2017.

"Friday's cattle on feed estimate of 11.125 million head was more than expected and will likely have a bearish impact on Monday's futures prices for deferred months," said DTN Analyst Todd Hultman. "August placements being 7% higher than a year ago likely benefited from decent summer conditions in the western Plains. The big-producing states of Texas, Kansas and Nebraska saw on-feed increases of 3%, 4%, and 8% from a year ago."

To view the full Cattle on Feed report, visit https://www.nass.usda.gov/…

USDA Actual Average Guess Range
Cattle on Feed:
On Feed Sept. 1 106.0% 105.3% 104.2-105.9%
Placed in August 107.0% 104.0% 101.1-107.0%
Marketed in August 100.0% 100.1% 99.8-104.3%

(AG)


blog iconDTN Blogs & Forums
DTN Market Matters Blog
Editorial Staff
Monday, September 24, 2018 12:28PM CDT
Friday, September 21, 2018 9:31AM CDT
Monday, September 17, 2018 10:58AM CDT
Technically Speaking
Editorial Staff
Monday, September 17, 2018 10:24AM CDT
Monday, September 17, 2018 10:23AM CDT
Monday, September 10, 2018 8:48AM CDT
Fundamentally Speaking
Joel Karlin
DTN Contributing Analyst
Monday, September 24, 2018 8:48AM CDT
Wednesday, September 19, 2018 6:57PM CDT
Tuesday, September 18, 2018 12:24PM CDT
DTN Ag Policy Blog
Chris Clayton
DTN Ag Policy Editor
Monday, September 24, 2018 3:01PM CDT
Thursday, September 20, 2018 8:13AM CDT
Tuesday, September 18, 2018 1:52PM CDT
Minding Ag's Business
Katie Behlinger
Farm Business Editor
Monday, September 10, 2018 4:40PM CDT
Monday, July 23, 2018 4:05PM CDT
Friday, July 6, 2018 2:37PM CDT
DTN Ag Weather Forum
Bryce Anderson
DTN Ag Meteorologist and DTN Analyst
Thursday, September 20, 2018 12:24PM CDT
Tuesday, September 18, 2018 3:37PM CDT
Friday, September 14, 2018 2:54PM CDT
DTN Production Blog
Pam Smith
Crops Technology Editor
Friday, August 31, 2018 10:30AM CDT
Thursday, August 9, 2018 7:47PM CDT
Friday, July 27, 2018 11:38AM CDT
Harrington's Sort & Cull
John Harrington
DTN Livestock Analyst
Monday, September 17, 2018 11:55AM CDT
Thursday, August 30, 2018 4:06PM CDT
Friday, August 3, 2018 5:33PM CDT
An Urban’s Rural View
Urban Lehner
Editor Emeritus
Monday, September 24, 2018 11:45AM CDT
Thursday, September 13, 2018 5:39PM CDT
Tuesday, September 4, 2018 11:26AM CDT
Machinery Chatter
Dan Miller
Progressive Farmer Senior Editor
Friday, September 7, 2018 12:40PM CDT
Thursday, August 30, 2018 12:13PM CDT
Wednesday, August 22, 2018 2:18PM CDT
Canadian Markets
Cliff Jamieson
Canadian Grains Analyst
Monday, September 24, 2018 4:40PM CDT
Friday, September 21, 2018 3:52PM CDT
Thursday, September 20, 2018 3:11PM CDT
Editor’s Notebook
Greg D. Horstmeier
DTN Editor-in-Chief
Friday, August 24, 2018 5:53PM CDT
Friday, August 17, 2018 5:12PM CDT
Thursday, August 16, 2018 7:00AM CDT
 
Copyright DTN. All rights reserved. Disclaimer.
Powered By DTN